Tradition

It is no coincidence that Badrutt's Palace Hotel has a five star deluxe rating. Standards are much higher in the elegant resort of St. Moritz, where luxury and lifestyle are taken for granted, just as much as its untouched nature. Distinguished guests from around the world consider this their second home due to the exclusive hospitality offered by this imposing and beautifully cared for symbol of St. Moritz since 1896. Personalities from the world of politics and business, royalty, prominent figures from the arts and music spend time together every year in Badrutt’s Palace Hotel.


The 115 years of hospitality in the centre of the Engadin Alps, began with Johannes Badrutt. After purchasing the former Hotel Beau Rivage in 1892, his son Caspar contracted the renowned architects, Chiodera & Tschudi to convert it to the Palace Hotel. To begin with it was a recreational destination only during the summer months, but this once so peaceful St. Moritz developed into an elegant centre for Alpine winter sports, after Johannes Badrutt made a bet with English summer guests.
 Since then, the development of the Palace Hotel has been part of the Badrutt family. After the opening celebration in 1896, many of the family members have worked constantly to sustain the hotel economically, as well as to preserve and extend this splendid mountain hotel in Engadin. The historical house, Chesa Veglia, was purchased and converted in 1935, in order to offer guests of Badrutt’s Palace Hotel culinary delights outside the hotel’s restaurants.


With the death of Hans Badrutt in 1953, who had taken on the directorship from his father, Caspar Badrutt after his death in 1904, the directorship was passed on to his wife Helen and her son Andrea Badrutt, who later, together with his brother, Hansjürg Badrutt, took things under their wings. It was never a question of waiting for things to happen or resting on their laurels in Badrutt’s Palace Hotel. The hotel’s services and facilities have been continuously adjusted to suit the times and in doing so, it belongs to one of the most luxurious hotels in Switzerland. The historical tower and symbol of St. Moritz was rebuilt and extravagantly refurbished after a fire in 1967.


After the extension of the Suot-Mulin-Complex between 1981 and 1984, which housed new suites and privately owned apartments, the management of Badrutt’s Palace Hotel was transferred to the luxury hotel chain of Rosewood Hotels and Resorts. During this period many renovations, extensions and technical installations were made that added to the substance and development of Badrutt’s Palace Hotel. Then followed the building of the «Kids’ Club Palazzino», the opening of the shopping mile «Palace Galerie», and the opening of the Helen Badrutt and Hans Badrutt Suites which are an homage to both family members and are extraordinary in their luxury and exclusivity.


In 2004, the distinguished hotelier, Hans Wiedemann took over as Managing Director of this family-managed luxury hotel and with this began a complete and comprehensive restructuring of all the hotel areas including the infrastructure, service and facilities. In order to preserve the historic interior and the unmistakable charm of Badrutt’s Palace Hotel for another 100 years, the many and thorough renovations were completed in 3 stages. Badrutt’s Palace Hotel has become a symbol of responsible business and sustainability in the name of its guests and the environment.


Along with the preservation of the historical substance, the other main issue of Hans Wiedemann lies with the careful, but effective renewal of the infrastructure. The heat pump is an innovative source of energy fed from Lake St. Moritz, which during the 2006/2007 winter season, covered 80% of total energy requirements. «Palace Wellness», the façade and the refurbishing of the rooms have cost over 70 million Swiss Francs to adjust to the conditions of the times, but without destroying the history of the house. Badrutt’s Palace Hotel guests will in future, enjoy the most up to date comforts in a sensational setting.

Tradition

Das Badrutt’s Palace Hotel besitzt nicht umsonst das Prädikat eines 5 Sterne Deluxe Hotels. Im mondänen St. Moritz, wo Luxus und Lifestyle ebenso selbstverständlich sind wie die Unberührtheit der Natur, liegen die Standards weit höher. Seit 1896 lockt das imposante und gepflegte Wahrzeichen von St. Moritz illustre Gäste aus der ganzen Welt an, die dieses Luxushotel in Anbetracht der exklusiven Gastlichkeit als zweite Heimat betrachten. Persönlichkeiten aus Politik und Wirtschaft, gekrönte Häupter, Prominente aus Kunst und Musik treffen sich Jahr für Jahr im Badrutt’s Palace Hotel, um gemeinsame Stunden und Abende zu verbringen.

117 Jahre Gastfreundschaft inmitten der Engadiner Bergwelt, ins Leben gerufen von Johannes Badrutt, dessen Sohn Caspar das ehemalige Hotel Beau Rivage von den renommierten Architekten Chiodera & Tschudi nach dem Kauf im Jahre 1892 zum Palace Hotel umbauen liess. Zunächst nur als Erholungsort für die Sommermonate gedacht, entwickelte sich das einst so beschauliche St. Moritz nach einer Wette zwischen Johannes Badrutt und einigen englischen Sommergästen zu einem mondänen Zentrum des alpinen Wintersports.

Seit dieser Zeit ist die Entwicklung des Palace Hotels untrennbar mit der Geschichte der Familie Badrutt verbunden. Nach der feierlichen Eröffnung im Jahre 1896 bemühten sich zahlreiche Familienmitglieder mit Herzblut und wirtschaftlichem Geschick um den Erhalt und Ausbau des prachtvollen Berghotels im Engadin. So wurde auch die historische Chesa Veglia im Jahre 1935 erworben und umgebaut, um den Gästen des Badrutt’s Palace Hotels auch ausserhalb der hoteleigenen Restaurants kulinarische Genüsse zu ermöglichen.

Mit dem Tod von Hans Badrutt im Jahre 1953, der die Geschäftsführung seines 1904 verstorbenen Vaters Caspar Badrutt übernommen hatte, wechselte die Hotelleitung an dessen Frau Helen und ihren Sohn Andrea Badrutt, der später zusammen mit seinem Bruder Hansjürg Badrutt die Geschicke des Palace Hotels auf sich nahm. Stillstand und der Verlass auf bereits erbrachte Leistungen waren im Badrutt’s Palace Hotel nie ein Thema. Stetig wurde das Angebot des Hauses, das zurecht zu den luxuriösesten Hotels der Schweiz gehört, an die Gegebenheiten der Zeit angepasst. Auch der historische Turm, das unübersehbare Markenzeichen von St. Moritz, wurde nach einem Brand im Jahre 1967 aufwendig erneuert.

Nach dem Anbau des Suot-Mulin-Komplexes in den Jahren 1981 bis 1984, der neue Suiten und Eigentumswohnungen beherbergt, wurde das Management des Badrutt’s Palace Hotels an die Luxus- Hotelkette Rosewood Hotels & Resorts übertragen. In dieser Zeit wurden zahlreiche Renovierungen, Ergänzungen und technische Modernisierungen durchgeführt, die zum Bestand und der Entwicklung des Badrutt’s Palace Hotels beigetragen haben. Hierzu gehören der Bau des Kids' Club Palazzino, die Eröffnung der Shopping-Meile „Palace Galerie“ und die Einweihung der legendären Hans Badrutt Suite und der Helen Badrutt Suite, die als Hommage an die beiden Familienmitglieder errichtet in Sachen Luxus und Exklusivität ihresgleichen suchen.

Im Jahre 2004 übernahm der angesehene Hotelier Hans Wiedemann das familiengeführte Luxushotel als neuer Managing Director. Damit begann eine komplette und umfassende Neustrukturierung des gesamten Hotelbereichs inklusive Infrastruktur, Service und Angebot. Um die historische Ausstattung und den unverwechselbaren Charme des Badrutt’s Palace Hotels auch für weitere 100 Jahre zu sichern, wurden in drei Etappen zahlreiche und grundlegende Renovierungsmassnahmen durchgeführt, die das Badrutt’s Palace Hotel zu einem Aushängeschild für Verantwortungsbewusstsein und Nachhaltigkeit im Sinne des Gastes und der Umwelt gemacht haben.

Neben dem Erhalt der historischen Substanz liegt das Hauptaugenmerk von Hans Wiedemann auf der behutsamen und effektiven Erneuerung der Infrastruktur. Die Energieversorgung durch eine innovative Wärmepumpe, die über das Wasser des St. Moritzersees gespeist wird, trägt seit der Wintersaison 2006/2007 insgesamt 80 Prozent des aktuellen Bedarfs. Auch der Palace Wellness, die Fassade und die Ausstattung der Zimmer wurden in Eigenregie und im Einklang mit der Historie des Hauses für weit über 70 Millionen Franken an die Gegebenheiten der Zeit angepasst, um den Gästen des Badrutt’s Palace Hotels auch in der Zukunft modernste Annehmlichkeiten in einem sensationellen Umfeld bieten zu können.